Mission Statement

Restore Cleveland Hope was created to celebrate the heroic spirit of the UGRR by researching and retelling the stories of Cleveland’s rich anti-slavery past. We are guided by our belief that the history of the struggle for freedom from being enslaved cannot be told too many times. Our goal is to share the inspiration of the courageous lives of the Freedom Seekers and those who took the risk to help them. We do this by offering educational programs for adults and children and by providing a venue for open dialogue about how this history informs our lives today. Our aim is not to only provide programs so our history is not forgotten, but to build real community, The Beloved Community that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. envisioned.

Restore Cleveland Hope

Board Members


Kathryn Puckett
Board President

Jeanne Van Atta
Vice President

Kathy Baker

Jerry Cohea

Board of Directors

Gwen Lyons

Kim Yanoshik

Kevin Cronin

Virginia Mook

Eloise Wrean Fiebig

Dean Sieck

Karen Gilliam

Gina Washington


Organizational Contributors

Bedford Hts AARP, Chapter 4941

Case Western Reserve University (charity choice)

Civil War Roundtable

Cuyahoga County Subchapter
110 (AFSCME Retirees)

Darnell Cook & Barbara Jeffries, SubChap110 AFSCME

The Episcopal Church Diocese of Ohio

Euclid Avenue Congregational Church
Women’s Association
Men’s Council

The First Unitarian Church of Cleveland

Hope Lutheran Church
2222 North Taylor Road, Oh 44112

OLOC, Inc.


Public Employee Retirees,
Cuyahoga County, Chapter #14

Round River Consulting LLC

TOP Mediation Council,
Orchard School of Science

© 2023 Restore Cleveland Hope. All rights reserved.